Skip navigation
Close MPL Express at Silver Spring is Out of Order - As of Wednesday, November 21

Service has been requested. We apologize for the inconvenience.

All Milwaukee Public Library Locations Closed...

Sunday, Dec. 16, Sunday, Dec. 23, Monday, Dec. 24, and Tuesday, Dec. 25 for Christmas. Sunday, Dec. 30, Monday, Dec. 31, and Tuesday, Jan. 1, 2019 for New Year's.

Milwaukee Public Library Hours & Locations Close

Frankenstein 2018

Frankenstein 2018
In celebration of the 200th anniversary of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, Milwaukee Public Library presents film screenings, book discussions, crafts and science experiments throughout October.

Learn more about Frankenreads, an international celebration of the 200th anniversary of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein for Halloween 2018 organized by the Keats-Shelley Association of America at frankenreads.org.

 

Freaky Frankentoys

Tuesday, October 9, 3:30-5 p.m.
Tippecanoe Branch 

Create terrible toys by mixing parts for a new disturbing Frankentoy creation! For ages 6-12.


200th Anniversary Celebration of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein

Tippecanoe Branch

Watch screenings of the Universal Horror classics Frankenstein and Bride of Frankenstein and join a book club discussion of the original text that started it all throughout the month of October.

 

 

Wednesday, October 10, 6-7:45 p.m.
Frankenstein Film Screening and Discussion

Wednesday, October 24, 6-7 p.m.
Frankenstein Book Discussion

Wednesday, October 31, 6-7:45 p.m.
Bride of Frankenstein Screening and Discussion

 

 

 

Zablocki Branch

In celebration of the 200th anniversary of the publication of Mary Shelley’s iconic and groundbreaking novel Frankenstein, join us in November for a Frankenstein Trivia Contest as well as a book club discussion of the original text that started it all.


Wednesday, November 14, 6:30-7:30 p.m.
Frankenstein Trivia

Thursday, November 29, 5-6 p.m.
Frankenstein Book Discussion



Frankenreads 2018:
Sew Your Own Monster

Thursday, October 25, 3:30-4:30 p.m
East Branch

 

Sew your own Frankenstuffie! Light it up with e-textile technology and create the monster of your dreams – or nightmares! Sewing supplies and fabric will be provided. A selection of Frankenstein-inspired books and films will be available for browsing.



Frankenreads 2018:
Neuroscience in Action

Saturday, October 27, 12-3 p.m
East Branch

 

Meet members of UW-Madison’s Neuroscience Training Program! Real human brains will be available to hold, along with other activities related to neuroscience research and diseases. Learn how electricity can be used to reanimate a cockroach leg. Frankenstein-inspired books and films will be available for browsing.


Monster Makers

Saturday, October 27, 2-3 p.m.
Central Library - Herzfeld Activity Center

Have what it takes to create your own mixed-media monster? Put your Dr. Frankenstein skills to the test. For ages 8-12.