Skip navigation
Close Mill Road Branch Closure

Mill Road Branch will be closed Monday, December 11 through Monday, January 1, 2018. The library will reopen on Tuesday, January 2, 2018 with reduced services.

All Milwaukee Public Library Locations Closed...

Sunday, Dec. 17, Friday, Dec. 22, Saturday, Dec. 23, Sunday, Dec. 24, and Monday, Dec. 25 for Christmas. Friday, Dec. 29, Saturday, Dec. 30, Sunday, Dec. 31, and Monday, Jan. 1, 2018 for New Year's.

Milwaukee Public Library Hours & Locations

Close

Blog Post

The Martian and Shovel Ready

By MPL Staff on May 19, 2014 12:36 PM

 

 

 

 

After a dust storm causes his team to evacuate Mars, astronaut Mark Watney must learn to survive the red planet’s inhumane terrain. The Martian, a debut novel by Andy Weir, is a great read for fans of hard SF, as Watney is able to stay alive only by attacking problem after problem with scientific precision and ingenuity.

Spademan is a garbageman – his own term for hit man. In a dystopian New York, Spademan is hired to kill an evangelist’s daughter, but nothing is as it seems. Sternbergh drags the noir genre into the near future with Shovel Ready, his debut novel.

Kyle @ Tippecanoe

 



Add a Comment