Skip navigation
Close All Milwaukee Public Library Locations Closed...

Sunday, Dec. 16, Sunday, Dec. 23, Monday, Dec. 24, and Tuesday, Dec. 25 for Christmas. Sunday, Dec. 30, Monday, Dec. 31, and Tuesday, Jan. 1, 2019 for New Year's.

Milwaukee Public Library Hours & Locations Close

Now@MPL

The Color of Law

By MPL Staff on Jul 19, 2018 8:28 AM

The Color of Law

Read, learn and connect at your library while discussing author Richard Rothstein’s The Color of Law: A Forgotten History of How Our Government Segregated America.

The Color of Law is an explosive, alarming history that finally confronts how governments in the 20th century deliberately imposed residential racial segregation on metropolitan areas nationwide.
 

Wednesday, Aug. 15                     Tuesday, Sept. 18
6-7 p.m.                                            6-7 p.m.
M.L. King Branch                           Villard Square Branch
310 W. Locust St.                            5190 N. 35th St. [Large Study Room]

Tuesday, Sept. 4                            Tuesday, Sept. 25
6-7 p.m.                                           6-7 p.m.
Zablocki Branch                             Atkinson Branch
3501 W. Oklahoma Ave.                1960 W. Atkinson Ave.

Tuesday, Sept. 11                           Tuesday, Oct. 2
6-7 p.m.                                           6-7 p.m.
Washington Park Branch            East Branch
2121 N. Sherman Blvd.                  2320 N. Cramer St.

These book clubs are part of a citywide shared reading organized by Metropolitan Milwaukee Fair Housing Council and Local Initiatives Support Corporation (LISC) Milwaukee.

Center Street: The Color of Law

Center Street Branch
2727 W. Fond du Lac Ave.

Tuesday, Sept. 11 Tuesday, Sept. 25
6-7:30 pm 6-7:30 pm
Chapters 1-6 Chapters 7-12

In partnership with Rid Racism Milwaukee, Center Street Branch invites you to a discussion of The Color of Law: A Forgotten History of How Our Government Segregated America by Richard Rothstein. Explore the themes in depth and discuss with fellow Milwaukeeans during this two-part program series. This book club is part of a citywide shared reading organized by Metropolitan Milwaukee Fair Housing Council and Local Initiatives Support Corporation (LISC) Milwaukee.



Add a Comment