Skip navigation
Close Mill Road Branch Closure

Mill Road Branch will be closed Monday, December 11 through Monday, January 1, 2018. The library will reopen on Tuesday, January 2, 2018 with reduced services.

All Milwaukee Public Library Locations Closed...

Sunday, Dec. 17, Friday, Dec. 22, Saturday, Dec. 23, Sunday, Dec. 24, and Monday, Dec. 25 for Christmas. Friday, Dec. 29, Saturday, Dec. 30, Sunday, Dec. 31, and Monday, Jan. 1, 2018 for New Year's.

Milwaukee Public Library Hours & Locations

Close

Now@MPL

Created Equal Film Series

By MPL Staff on Jan 30, 2014 12:59 PM

POSTER.jpgJoin the Milwaukee Public Library and America's Black Holocaust Museum (ABHM) for films and discussions on the past, present and future of civil rights in America. The Created Equal series uses the power of documentary films to encourage community discussion of America's civil rights history. The series, funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, in partnership with the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, consists of four documentaries: "The Abolitionists," "Slavery by Another Name," "The Loving Story," and "Freedom Riders," which chronicle the civil rights struggle from Revolutionary times to Martin Luther King Jr. Join us Tuesday, February 11th at the Martin Luther King Library for the first film screening and discussion on The Loving Story facilitated by Dr. Fran Kaplan of ABHM. The Created Equal film series is made possible through a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, as part of its Bridging Cultures initiative and in partnership with the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History.



Add a Comment