Skip navigation
Close Atkinson Branch will be closed for a Staff Training Day

Thursday, August 24, 2017. Regular service will resume on Friday, August 25 from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

All Milwaukee Public Library Locations Closed...

Saturday, September 2 through Monday, September 4 for Labor Day.

Milwaukee Public Library Hours & Locations

Close

Now@MPL

13th Documentary Viewing

By MPL Staff on Jun 6, 2017 10:07 AM

13th Documentary Viewing

 

The title of Ava DuVernay’s extraordinary and galvanizing documentary refers to the 13th Amendment to the Constitution, which reads, “Neither slavery nor involuntary servitude, except as a punishment for crime whereof the party shall have been duly convicted, shall exist within the United States.”


With a potent mixture of archival footage and testimony from a dazzling array of activists, politicians, historians, and formerly incarcerated women and men, DuVernay creates a work of grand historical synthesis. Join us for a free screening.

Tues, June 13, 5-7:30 pm
Mill Road Branch
6431 N. 76th St.

Mon, June 19, 4-6 pm
Atkinson Branch
1960 W. Atkinson Ave.

Sat, June 24, 12-2 pm
East Branch
2320 N. Cramer St.

Mon, June 26, 5:30-7:30 pm
Center Street Branch
2727 W. Fond du Lac Ave.

Wed, June 28, 5:30-7:30 pm
Villard Square Branch
5190 N. 35th St.

Tues, July 18, 5:30-7:30 pm
Forest Home Branch
1432 W. Forest Home Ave.

Mon., Aug. 7, 6-8 pm
Tippecanoe Branch
3912 S. Howell Ave.



Add a Comment