Skip navigation
Close Mill Road Branch Closure

Mill Road Branch will be closed Monday, December 11 through Monday, January 1, 2018. The library will reopen on Tuesday, January 2, 2018 with reduced services.

All Milwaukee Public Library Locations Closed...

Sunday, Dec. 17, Friday, Dec. 22, Saturday, Dec. 23, Sunday, Dec. 24, and Monday, Dec. 25 for Christmas. Friday, Dec. 29, Saturday, Dec. 30, Sunday, Dec. 31, and Monday, Jan. 1, 2018 for New Year's.

Milwaukee Public Library Hours & Locations

Close

About MPL

About

Welcome from City Librarian Paula Kiely

Milwaukee Public Library has released the MPL 2020 Progress Report, an update on the plan we developed to provide strategic, relevant and forward-looking library services for the community. The plan has helped us stay focused in meeting the interests and needs of our patrons.

After identifying three market segment groups - Young Families, Global Roots, and Traditional Living - we developed eight citywide strategies that would further our mission to help the people of Milwaukee read, learn and connect.

The report provides a broad overview of programs, projects and services the Library has provided including the implementation of ASK stations; LibraryNow, job fairs, Library Loud Days, and a host of programs for all ages. And of course, there is our branch library redevelopment project which most recently included the opening of the new Mitchell Street Branch.

I hope you'll have an opportunity to take a look at the progress report to see all that your Milwaukee Public Library has done, and will continue to do, to keep you informed, entertained, and connected to your community.

Vision

MPL is an anchor institution that helps build healthy families and vibrant neighborhoods – the foundation of a strong Milwaukee.

Mission

Inspiration starts here – we help people read, learn, and connect.

 

Strategic Plan

MPL 2020 Our Plan for the Future